Repost: Brilliant Allies in the VC Nonsense Fest

I love this blog and I wanted to comment for a long time:

http://citymaus.tumblr.com/post/50366590032/billdav

“Exactly. Bicycles are not cars and should not abide by the same rules because the same rules do not work for two things that function differently. Gotta change the stupid vehicle code that forces people to become “vehicular cyclists”.”

I thought, yes, my prayers are answered. Finally, finally, I don’t have to hear stupid shit like: “Forester had good ideas for his time” or the insipid: “I see things both way” or “I want infrastructure, but we need to ride vehicularly now!”

NO!

As my friend said, “I rode for two years, and I followed every traffic law to the letter. Now I do what _feels_ safe and I have not had an accident in five years.”

NOTE: UNBOUND LEGAL DOES NOT RECOMMEND BREAKING TRAFFIC LAWS. RIDE AT YOUR OWN RISK. BLAH BLAH WITH THE BLAH BLAH!

Then the silly enemy piped in: “Vehicular cycling works once you fully understand and utilize it.”

“I hate those dumb commentors who just talk about their personal experiences. I didn’t even say anything to provoke some personal response from some random probably old guy.

but, yeah, seems i did with the term “vehicular cycling”. gyahhd these stupid old men still exist (ie. john forester and his cohorts).”

YES!! Fills me with joy!

Here’s the best point at last: “If you fully understood vehicular cycling, you would know that it exists to prevent bicycle infrastructure from being built.”

YES!

Tell it like it is.

Finally, I feel like I’ve been release from my echo chamber!

Leave a Reply

