Is Advocacy Getting in the Wayof Love?

LTRs know that I do loving kindness on my bicycle. While I don’t do this all the time, I do it as often as I can.

My idea is to get hit, deliberately and to forgive the person immediately. I know that I am a few lifetimes away from this, but this is where I’m coming from.

Thus, I have been worried about the increasing (to me anyway) negative tone in my blog. I tend to write quickly, five or ten minutes per post, and thus, I tend to use a lot of short hand.

For example, when I write “motorist” I really mean, “people who happen to be behind the wheel of a car, but might be cyclists, or those who defend motoring to the detriment of all other people who can not afford to own or choose not to drive an automobile.”

This is pretty clunky and makes for confusing prose so I sum it all up in motorist.

However, I have recently, thanks to Ted and others, come upon the notion that cyclists are dividing themselves into smaller and smaller groups. Also, the whole motoring vs. cycling motoring duality is pretty stupid as most motorists have put a piece of steel between their legs a few times, and most of us cyclists have access and enjoy the benefits of motoring.

I try to keep thing in perspective, I can count the readers on one hand after a fireworks accident, but I do not want to come off as overly negative, accusatory, nor hostile.

The problem is the inner and outer problem. On one hand, we can pretend that things are OK and live in an imaginary happy place while our friends are getting run over and attacked while lax enforcement (not a typo) does nothing or even spends our tax dollars immunizing the criminals.

Also, I really love reading government published PDFs.

So the point of this post is to keep things in perspective. I don’t hate everyone. I want everyone to be happy. I realize that the road to happiness is both internal and external and it’s going to be a painful road indeed, but we will get there.

As I told a co-worker today regarding transportation, I am highly optimistic that things are will be much, much better in the future.

Leave a Reply

