Mindfulness Cycling 9/14

OK, let’s get back on track!

http://deerparkmonastery.org/mindfulness-practice/the-fourteen-mindfulness-trainings

The Ninth Mindfulness Training: Truthful and Loving Speech

Ug, outside of the drugs and alcohol section, this is one of the toughest ones for me.

“We will use only words that inspire joy, confidence and hope as well as promote reconciliation and peace in ourselves and among other people.”

I love this because there is so much animosity in the bicycling world today both between cyclists and motorists and between different cycling groups.

I really like this post where Ted tried to reach out to all the differing communities:

http://bikinginla.wordpress.com/2012/10/01/the-terrible-tyranny-of-two-wheel-tribal-wear/

The next line, I like even better:

“As members of a spiritual community, we should nonetheless take a clear stand against oppression and injustice.”

Yes!!

Too many people in the Buddhist community like to think that they are excempt from dealing with the problems of the world. Through my own meditation, I have found that the opposite is the case for me. That is, the calmer I got the more I could deal with people in a sane manner especially when they were doing things that are wrong.

The cycling community has been perfect plastic Buddhas when it comes to the problems in the world, but what we need are real live humans with human emotions.

While it’s true that being very placid can be a way to “survive our hostile environment”, we’d be stupid and selfish if we didn’t try to make that world a bit less hostile.

“We should strive to change the situation, without taking sides in a conflict.”

This, I flat out disagree with.

No!! We must take our own side because nobody else would. We have stood by for decades trying to be “fair”.

No more.

When one doesn’t have anything, one can not be generous. When one does not have equal power, one can not be fair.

“We are committed to learning to look with the eyes of interbeing and to see ourselves and others as cells in one Sangha body. As a true cell in the Sangha body, generating mindfulness, concentration and insight to nourish ourselves and the whole community, each of us is at the same time a cell in the Buddha body.”

Yes!!

But our cells need fresh air!

Also, I feel that if Buddhists really looked with interbeing which means that they look at the whole world as a whole instead of as individuals, public meditation places would be car free.

I do like the idea that all my actions affect the whole world and that I should treat others like I want to be treated. But this cuts both ways. i can write more on good meditation spots later. It’s NOT true that one can meditate anywhere or at any phase of one’s life.

“We will actively build brotherhood and sisterhood, flow as a river, and practice to develop the three real powers ā€“ understanding, love and cutting through afflictions ā€“ to realize collective awakening.”

Yes, but to cut through afflictions, at this point, cyclists need to be much more aggressive.

I challenge any really advanced spiritual being to come on my commute. Only on the seat of a bicycle, I feel can one fully demonstrate to me one’s attainments.

It’s really easy to act all Zen when one is driven around in air-conditioned luxury.

I realize that this is probably way harsher than it needs to be, but there’s bile everywhere, I guess, and it needs to get out. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

