Bicycle As a Brand

LTRs probably know by now that branding and advertising are one of my biggest passions right now.

Last weekend, I realized that cycling itself was a brand.

Not a particular type of bicycle like a Surly or Canon, but rather the _idea_ of riding a bicycle to work is a brand.

As a brand, we are doing really, really badly.

Even the risk takers, like motorcyclists see cyclists as shy and weak.

This is crazy because they love motorcycles because of the danger. Then they say that they don’t want to ride a bicycle because it is too dangerous!

Those in the know, realize that branding makes no sense so this isn’t the end of the world.

People’s minds are flexible and subject to change.

First of all, I am not going into the motorcycle space to compete. I learned that this won’t work at all, which is totally fine with me.

Instead, I have decided to personally decide what a bicycle means to me and what makes it appealing to me.

So what do I see when I see a bicycle?

I see a pile of money, a great body, and a beautiful sunny day spent outside.

The pile of money is all the money I save in not driving.

The great body is obviously the fact that every second that others are sitting in traffic getting angry, I’m working out.

Finally, each time I ride my bicycle to work, instead of a morning commute that people like the band MGMT bitch about:

“We’ll get jobs in offices and wake up for the morning commute”

I look forward to my commute!

So this is what I tell people when they talk about my bicycle: pile of money, great body, and a smile. šŸ™‚

2 Responses to “Bicycle As a Brand”

  1. Steve A Says:

    While you’re branding, note that you get parking close to the door, it’s a great conversation starter, people wave at you as you ride past their houses, your passage makes the WHOLE Day for bored neighborhood dogs, you see the stars at night, and you never actually run out of gas.

    • Fred Says:

      Thanks, Steve! I love it.

      I really love the notion of selling it as sex–it’s a great way to meet people especially at cycling events.

      One of my comebacks for a group ride, when appropriate, when asked “why are you riding”, as if we need a reason, is “to get the chics.” šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

