Mindfulness Cycling 7/14

We continue this series:

http://deerparkmonastery.org/mindfulness-practice/the-fourteen-mindfulness-trainings

The Seventh Mindfulness Training: Dwelling Happily in the Present Moment

OK, let me clear something up about this whole “present moment” stuff.

I’m often asked how to be happy in the present moment and plan at the same time.

To me this is silly.

You can plan in the present moment.

And “being in the present”, to me, is pointless if you can’t plan for a future, too.

I just don’t see a contradiction. I don’t think that being “in the present” and not thinking of the future at all is a wise way to live.

Also, I find that I love to day dream, and I encourage myself to do this as much as possible.

I think that mindfulness comes in when we are getting sucked into some mental spaces where we don’t want to be. The idea of mindfulness is that we realize that we are not our thoughts and that we don’t have to believe everything that we think.

Let’s see what the Mindfulness Training has to say:

“We will try not to lose ourselves in dispersion or be carried away by regrets about the past, worries about the future, or craving, anger, or jealousy in the present. We will practice mindful breathing to be aware of what is happening in the here and the now.”

I like this, but I don’t always use the breath on a bicycle. I find that sound is a really good object for cycling especially when I can listen to white noise and cars passing me.

“We are determined to learn the art of mindful living by touching the wondrous, refreshing, and healing elements that are inside and around us, in all situations.”

I really like this. It’s kind of vague, but it seems like a good idea to try to find these elements while on a bicycle. Still, I’d like something more specific here.

“We are aware that real happiness depends primarily on our mental attitude and not on external conditions, and that we can live happily in the present moment simply by remembering that we already have more than enough conditions to be happy.”

I really like this as well. I try to be happy where ever I cycle though some places suck more than others.

A final thing about cycling is that I often solve work related problems while on my bicycle even though I don’t make an effort to do so. A co-worker thinks that this is because cycling drives more oxygen and blood to my brain. Probably. I thought it was that my subconscious mind worked harder on stuff while my conscious mind was working on other things like not dying.

Perhaps it’s a bit of both.

Leave a Reply

