Mindfulness Cycling 1/14

Mindfulness Cycling 1/14

This is part one of a series that I will never complete as I don’t really like to finish these things. Plus there’s some trainings that are really tough for me so I ignore them like the one about TV and alcohol which Buddha would tell me were my refuge because they are.

http://deerparkmonastery.org/mindfulness-practice/the-fourteen-mindfulness-trainings

Still, this material is very powerful to me and helpful while I ride so I thought I’d share how I connect Buddhism to cycling.

The First Mindfulness Training: Openness

Note that I am really open when it comes to learning new things about cycling and when I am actually cycling.

Otherwise, I am becoming more and more close minded when it comes to dealing with fanatics because the in those situations, the open-minded person always loses. I can’t sit there passively accepting all their nonsense without doing some research on my own. Also, I won’t submit to so-called “experts” views especially if they can’t spell xpert. 🙂

Anyway, here’s some text:

“Aware of the suffering created by fanaticism and intolerance, we are determined not to be idolatrous about or bound to any doctrine, theory, or ideology, even Buddhist ones.”

I take this to mean that I need to be open to cycling in any condition. Any unhelpful phrase regarding cycling should be ignored.

“It’s too hot/cold to cycle.”

“I need a fancy bike path before I can bike to work.”

“Bike paths are death traps and I can’t ride in them.”

“Blah, blah, blah.”

I jump on my bicycle in any conditions and ride. If I can’t get there by bicycle, I usually don’t go.

Also, the statement means that sometimes I have to just let things go even if I think that it’s the wrong view.

On the road, I have to keep in mind that I might be wrong about my “rights” or “right of way”. Kindness is more important to me than rights.

Here’s some more gold:

“We understand that fanaticism in its many forms is the result of perceiving things in a dualistic and discriminative manner.”

I have noticed that this is really true. There are many other ways that we get confused and misperceive things. I think that too many abstractions hurt one’s understanding as well as deleting information from our mind’s that we don’t like. Finally, there are many ways to distort reality in our mind’s.

Thus, I try to see things as they are. Where do people bicycle and why? When people tell me things, I try to take them as they are without making up unnecessary stories about what they say.

Needless to say, I’m not bound by any of this at all as I’m not actually a Buddhist. But these things do make me happier and they make the day go nicer so I love to read and think about them especially while cycling.

Leave a Reply

