What is a Troll

I have noticed that in my VC debates on VC blogs as well as via email, eventually, they call me a troll.

This happens when I get them cornered and tied up in their own illogic. Instead of realizing that I’m actually more intelligent and less “fearful” (though I do like to be pampered so if this == fearful, bring on the fear).

Anyway, when I feel that when I am personally attacked, such as being called a troll, I have won the debate and should move on.

However, I wondered if I were a troll, really.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Troll_%28Internet%29

In one definition you could make a case that I am (though you can make a case for anything).

I am passionate and outspoken about what I believe in, and I write in an emotional manner.

However, this gave me pause:

“Trolls aspire to violence, to the level of trouble they can cause in an environment. They want it to kick off. They want to promote antipathetic emotions of disgust and outrage, which morbidly gives them a sense of pleasure.”

No.

I am not violent nor do I want outrage. I mainly want to be understood, which to me is the opposite of a troll because we are the types who can get suckered into a troll trap.

I think that the term troll should be reserved for those who ask questions or make remarks that they don’t actually believe in. They do this to get an emotional reaction.

I don’t do this.

I write about what I believe in only. This is normally called speaking one’s mind.

But I guess VC sites don’t want a diversity of opinions which is funny because they often go to other sites and whine about not being allowed to speak their minds.

I am on the other hand, have many, many unanswered questions.

Usually these questions are the ones that get me called a troll.

So on one hand, I am not going to be a mouth piece for an ideology that I disagree with.

On the other hand, I am open to honest questions about my views. I think that they make one stronger and smarter in the long run.

Leave a Reply

