Blind Driving Considered Illegal

Long time readers probably know that I have animosity towards none, but sometimes, we have to use tough love.

In this case, it’s Blind Drivers.

Never heard of them, you say.

That’s because I just made up the term. It bothers some people when I do that, but I call it “original thought”–yet another phrase I’m taking credit for. 🙂

By blind, I don’t mean seeing impaired. I never had any problems with the seeing impaired at all.

What I mean is people who deliberately drive while they can’t see.

This should be obvious, but I find that nearly ALL of my insanely controversial ideas are just plain old common sense that shouldn’t even be addressed.

In fact, I think that the Land of the Obvious is the cutting edge, where all the real action is at.

Again, I’ll say it again IF YOU CAN’T SEE, EVEN FOR A MOMENT, STOP YOUR FUCKING CAR AND PUT ON FOUR WAY FLASHERS.

“But what if I get rear-ended,” one might ask.

No fear of that UNLESS THERE ARE MORE BLIND DRIVERS ON THE ROADS.

So, duh, let’s get all the blind drivers off the road.

My notion is that is someone says IDSYM, “I didn’t see you, mate,” their car is automatically impounded and they lose their license for a year, do not pass go, do not collect $200.

Why?

Because, I THINK THAT DRIVING A CAR WHEN YOU CAN’T SEE SHOULD BE ILLEGAL.

How many times did people hit things that they _could_ see? If they do, then, sometimes, if they police _believe_ that they might be able to press charges, they will charge a motorist with assault and many other things.

If they didn’t see someone, currently, this is a get out of jail free card.

Why is this so? Shouldn’t we ban dangerous behaviors?

Why the hell are we banning cell phone use if we don’t, indirectly, care about blind driving?

You know I’m OK with cell phone use, but not blind driving. You can text at a red light. You can dial before you start driving. I don’t think that having a cell phone in your hand is a crime. I do think that taking your eyes off the road is.

Imagine how many motorists and children of motorists will be saved?

Imagine a world where people are NOT in deadly fear of all other humans who chose to encase themselves in metal and steel?

Imagine lower insurance rates and less hospital visits. Now the police can use their very, very strained resources to go after child molesters instead of wasting their time writing tickets for cell phone possession and other nonsense.

Can anyone seriously suggest that we should keep Blind Driving legal?

Leave a Reply

