Cycle Bullying: With Malice Towards None

Recently, I have spoken about cycle bullies and the culture that causes it.

One might think that I am mad at the world; I’m not.

One of my goals in life it to finally overcome anger, and I’m getting there, though not as fast as I’d like, of course.

I really do believe in “turning the other cheek”.

On the other hand, like I said before, I’d like to make my world better on the inside and outside. Thus it’s important to get bad motorists out of their vehicles because it’s not just about my internal state.

Overall, for me, it’s been a challenging balancing act, but just knowing that I’m not alone in this, and that the distinction between the my outside world and inside is mental and arbitrary motivated me to think more about my own environment.

Overall, my premise is that ALL people are good including malicious motorists and the indifferent government employees who claim helplessness to help cyclists all the while attacking cyclists both via selfish and deadly infrastructure decisions and their lack of legal knowledge and research.

My goal is to forgive and to love them all.

However, it would be disrespectful to cyclists to stop the research. I have no illusions that this will be super-useful in helping people, but it is a hobby of mine so I’ll continue my daily, five minute, google breaks to find out how the law can help make the streets just as safe for cyclists as motorists, by spending billions of tax dollars from the general fund, paid by motorists and non-motorists alike, have done for themselves.

Thus, I’ll continue to quote this beautiful poem of Buddha:

“For hatred does not cease by hatred; hatred ceases by love.
The world does not know that we must all come to an end here;
but those who know it, their quarrels cease at once.”

Leave a Reply

