Product Placement: Das Pitlock for Wheel Protection

This is a response to all the problems with bicycle theft.

One of the most confounding things about bicycle theft is that while we can easily lock up our frames using a U-lock, but we can still get many of our components stolen.

One of the most common things to lose is a wheel.

When I lived in Philly, I actually carried around two U-locks so that I could lock the frame and front wheel to a post and the backwheel to the bicycle.

One of the best things about this is the peace of mind that such a simple practice gave me.

Still, however, I had trouble when my princess would ride with me. We’d try to figure out all sorts of ways to make three U-locks work. This was a huge hassle. Plus carrying two U-locks is even more of a pain in the ass than carrying one.

One easy hack to make the problem less likely is to get rid of the crazy quick release levers. I rarely failed to have the tool to take my wheel off anyway so I never saw any convenience from this. Also, this was pretty stressful as I feared getting my wheels stolen. Thus, a normal bolt is a bit better, but not great. A non-standard bolt such as a hex or even more exotic is probably all you need except for the most effective thieves.

However, finding such bolts and tools was more trouble than I expected.

Enter PitlockTM.

They make bolts and skewers especially for different makes of wheels. Thus, you can be sure that you get the proper size for your bicycle rather than having a nasty hack on your hands.

The way that it works is that there are over 200 machine made nuts which are then matched with a custom nut. You get two nuts per pack. Even better, you can order the same nuts for yourself and loved ones so that you don’t need to keep duplicate tools all over the place.

The custom nut is protected by a stainless steel sheath. This has to be seen to be believed.

I have had many people tell me that this is not as effective as I thought, but I don’t buy it.

One guy told me that a pipe wrench would get the nut off. False because the outer sheath does not turn at all.

Another advantage is that I can just lock up my wheel to a post if I have to.

Pitlock costs over a hundred dollars, but I think that it’s worth it. The high price discourages thieves from buying all the nuts and using them.

I am not even afraid of Pitlock becoming popular. I think that if it does, bicycle thieves would move on to something easier to steal–and more lucrative.

I am not on Pitlock’s payroll, but I wish I were because I love their product so much.

I can picture the commercial now. A thief tries all kinds of tools to take off a wheel and fails each time. In the end, he takes off his black, mugger’s cap and stomps on it. A German voice over says “Das Pitlock” really fast while the logo splashes on the bottom of the screen.

Oh, Pitlock, I love thee! 🙂

2 Responses to “Product Placement: Das Pitlock for Wheel Protection”

  1. Steve A Says:

    $100? That’d pay for a lot of $15 u locks, left at all the usual stops. I have two at my bike parking spot at work. One for the frame and rear wheel. One for the front wheel. I rarely carry a u lock with me. Still, Pitlock would be on my short list if I had to lock to poles frequently or for long.

    • Fred Says:

      Leaving locks is a great idea for travelling light.

      However, I go all over the place.

      I guess I didn’t tell the story where an immigration officer threatened to cut my u-lock off a fence one time at the border when I just needed to run inside to relieve myself real quick.

      I would like a u-lock which only the jaws of life will get off.

      My notion is that my bike is evolving for a harsh environment. I should probably blog this more clearly…

Leave a Reply

