Soul Killer

I had a funny experience today.

As I stated earlier, I love, love, love riding in a car because I do it so seldom that it is still an experience of unparalleled luxury. I so love not having to think a single thought of my own safety nor to be on edge at all times in order to get from point A to point B. I just sit in a coach.

That being said, I think that there’s something about driving that kills the human soul.

I know this sounds new agey and insane, but this is how I think sometimes.

If you disagree, do this experiment. Stand in the middle of a fast paced road. A good spot is the turning lane in between two double lines. As stated earlier double lines, drawn in paint on the road, create a magical barrier which can not be crossed. You just can’t drive through a force field. πŸ™‚

While there, try to make eye contact with everyone. You might find that people drive really close to you. If you look deep into their eyes, there will be nothing inside. There’s only a dead sort anger like the light from a dying star. It’s bright enough to burn you, but you can see that the passion is gone, and the flame is going out.

Anyway, that’s what I see.

These people are parents, and children, and workers, and many people love them. They love many people. They are probably enroute to volunteer in a children’s hospital. But behind the wheel they are empty machines, hell bent on moving their pieces of metal as fast as they possibly can and not stopping unless they really, really have to.

4 Responses to “Soul Killer”

  1. Steve A Says:

    Interesting observation. I drove last night and, on the way home, found it took the group of cars I was in over three blocks before they got above the speed I typically ride. Besides killing souls, those cars ought to stay on the freeway where they belong!

    • Fred Says:

      Too true! I’m a slow rider, and I can often keep up, at night, on the so-call arterial streets. Then I cross freeway bridges and see that there’s nobody on the freeway!

      Then I listen to people whine about how bicycle slows them down!

      The main reason that people avoid the freeway is that they have no idea on the actual geography of the city. People don’t want to think which is mainly OK which is why I resent having to have a secret decoder ring to get around San Diego on a bicycle.

  2. Jay Porter Says:

    Once, maybe a year ago, I expressed a similar sentiment to you, and you said you understood why I felt that way, but you disagreed. What has happened to change your perspective?

    • Fred Says:

      I guess the main thing that changed was that before then I had been meditating regularly, and I was trying to be as happy as possible. Connecting with motorists–in my imagination–in a friendly way was one of my methods of avoiding feelings of anger and alienation.

      Subsequently, I had a lot of mental and spiritual upheavals that I don’t want to get into here, but I may share some of it, if people care, if I have a few beers. πŸ™‚

      One important part of my meditation practice is NOT to deny any feelings. On the other hand, I don’t want to feel like a helpless puppet either. If I took the later approach, there would be no purpose to practice. I want to get happier here. πŸ™‚

      Overall, the post probably read like rewarmed ideas from a party that you attended. That’s because it mostly was. When I wrote it, I was thinking of the time where someone said that she turned into a monster behind the wheel. I have also seen this happen to other people including charity workers, mediators, and all around kind and caring people.

      Anyway, I’d like to discuss this further. The notion of a motorist’s (and cyclist’s) psychology is in its infancy. For too long we have been thought of as steel encrusted, interchangeable drops of fluid.

Leave a Reply

