The Award Winning City of 2011

Foreword:

I am often told that I should not be obsessed with winning arguments with the VC/savvy cyclist as research has invalidated their ideas, and American cities are waking up from the petrol fume induced slumber to recreate themselves on a human scale again.

While that’s partially true, the vast VC wing conspiracy is still haunting us. Plus, VCers are fun to mock and everyone humorist needs a safe target.

Plus, it scores points with the ladies or rather one all important lady, my princess. ๐Ÿ™‚

Plus, blogs need to create BS awards and give them to one another. I don’t know why, but this is the way of the blogosphere.

Thus, I give the world, the VC Award.

I will give this award to the city that most traffic deaths due to the highest VC infestation. ๐Ÿ™‚

Thus without further ado, I bequeath the 2011 VC City of the Year to Mickey Mouse Town!

That’s Orlando for all you hipsters. I was last there when I was nine years old.

Now, I want to go back and ride my bicycle.

Just kidding.

10 of the Scariest Places to Live in the U.S.
The Orlando-Kissimmee Region of Florida
ยซ Prev
5 of 10
Next ยป

“There have been over 5,550 deaths in the Orlando-Kissimmee region, an average of 3 per 100,000 people. This number tallies both car crashes and pedestrian casualties, which are so high that the region was ranked by Transportation for America as the single most dangerous place for pedestrians.”

I know there is no mention of bicycles above, but it is still very relevant.

This is because it’s known that the more difficult bicycling is, the more unpleasant it is for us all.

Making a place more bicycle friendly reduces deaths of pedestrians AND motorists. If this makes it more dangerous for us cyclists–as VCers claim, then it’s a worthy sacrifice. (Hint it’s not).

We need to think of all road users not just ourselves.

This winner didn’t totally surprise me because as I said above, the VC cyclists are fairly vehement. It’s where I got in a debate over infrastructure.

Among other things, one of their debate tactics was to accuse me of having a complete set of functioning emotions (“You’re fearful.”) Guilty of not being a robot. ๐Ÿ™‚

Of course, due to complete luck, God, and awesome debate tactics, I happened to burn this debate to the ground.

Still, on the ground it appears that the VCers have prevailed.

With a body count of 5,550 who can touch them?

Not even Dallas which had, for years, someone who claimed to be a bicyclist, but was really a Quisling.

For perspective, there are about 5,000 pedestrian deaths in the WHOLE US so I’d like to see the data broken out better, but I don’t have time for more research on my short lunch break.

Also, not that less than 700 deaths IN THE WHOLE US are from cycling so the 5000 plus number from Orlando must include many motorist fatalaties as well.

This would be totally ironic if it weren’t so sad.

As the Dead Milkmen liked to say, “It might not be the blues, but it [their guitar playing] does make me cry.” ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

