Clothing Laws

SUV rolling down Fairmount

To me, far more scary than a female with cloth on her face...

I’m interested in clothing laws because they show me how little I actually understand about the human mind.

On the face of it, clothing laws seem really silly. Who is the government to tell me what cloth to cover my body with.

World history is rife with examples of silly looking clothing laws.

It was rumored that in the 1700’s or so, England banned plaid in Scotland because they sought to suppress the will of the Scots.

Similarly, in France and the Netherlands, they either have banned or will ban face covering. This has been debated over grounds of suppressing Islam versus the notion of the insecurity of the state with regards to people just wandering around the streets of Paris with their faces covered by a bit of cloth and even national pride in a secular culture.

Even the United States had some kerfluffle regarding clothing laws when they tried to ban gang colored head coverings. The idiot school administration mindlessly applied the same law to a single little girl who wanted to cover her head because that’s what she believed in.

As an American, I am inclined to be against all clothing laws because my mind has been marinated in the juices of the belief in maximizing individual freedom as much as possible.

On the other hand, I personally can’t really get riled up about this issue. I just don’t care. If someone tells me I can’t wear a shorts while I ride my bicycle, it might piss me off. But overall, I am very used to being bossed around regarding my wardrobe, having gone to schools which made me wear a uniform. Also, there are job interviews where I wear what I am expected and smile about it.

This is being from an all ready “modern” country.

In other countries, usually in the Muslim world, clothing laws were seen as a way to rapidly modernize.

Smile now, but people really put a lot of stock into appearance and they respect the well dressed.

In order to be respected in the Western World, Attaturk banned the fez and head coverings. This and many other reforms has resulted in rapid modernization of Turkey after World War I to the point that during the breakup of the USSR, Turkey was able to make a serious bid to control some of the Central Asian republics through economic and cultural exchange.

You have come a long way, baby. 🙂

Many other countries in the Muslim world have clothing laws which either promote or restrict head coverings depending upon the leader’s religious views.

To go on record, I’m against any religious persecution in the United States based upon clothing laws. We are a super-powerful country, and we need to regrow our pairs so that we can focus on bigger dangers in the world than pieces of cloth which only serve as a convenient distraction.

Fear no cloth, people.

Which finally brings me to my point.

Today while cycling I noticed how extroverted I am. Part of it is my forced extroversion because I feel like it is for my own good, happiness wise and success wise.

On the other hand, I noticed that I was the only person who was showing his face. Everyone else had…well…some sort of head covering.

It wasn’t religious, unless you consider the need for speed (but I _have_ to drive) a religion. 🙂

But I do wonder at places like France, where driving with one’s head covered is allowed, but women aren’t allowed to cover their faces.

SARCASM ON

I imagine that a woman covering her head while WALKING around is more dangerous to the public than the same woman who’s head is covered with tinted windows and who can literally run away at several times the speed of the fastest human alive.

SARCASM OFF

When I see inconsistencies like these, I recall the most people reason morally. This means that they come to the thing that they want (ban public displays of religion) then they justify it later with notions that sound good, but are actually total nonsense like “public safety”.

Which reminds me of the notion of “noise words” which I had read about recently: words that seem to mean something, but when examined have no meaning at all. In most cases, “safety” and “terrorism” is used in this way.

For years, when someone said certain key words, a red flag went up and in a few more seconds, I could see that these people were just talking hogwash.

After all, if they get their way, they can still drive around with potential child molesters, drive bys, car bombs, and mafia style run over assasinations, but Buffy the Vampire Slayer with her cute cross necklace would be banned.

And that’s the real tragedy. 🙂

Two cars rolling down Fairmount towards camera

Not nearly as scary as it looks...

Leave a Reply

