A Bicycle is NOT a Symbol

Nor is a bongo. 🙂

Kidding aside, my posts are starting to sound like lame ass Public Service Announcements without guitars, but with stupid jokes to make the whole thing easier to swallow.

On the other hand, if my “eat your vegetables” and “racism is bad” style of posts are stupid, what about the stuff that prompts them like an annoying quote in the NY Times, talking about DC:

“Some of these poorer residents saw revitalization as code for efforts to drive them out, and the building of dog parks and bike and streetcar lanes as efforts by affluent whites to re-arrange spending priorities to suit themselves.”

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/07/18/us/18dc.html?src=me&ref=general

There are a million things that are wrong with this.

Like, do only white people have dogs? What gives?

I think my annoyance as a bicycle being used a symbol in people’s minds rather than what it is to me which is a piece of metal with two tiny rubber wheels on it.

I have seen a bicycle equated with liberalism, ecology, hipsterism, terrorism (no kidding), the United Nations, wealth, snobby elitism, theft of tax dollars, and even being white.

I think that the problem is that some people just don’t like bicycles, and I think that’s just fine. I don’t like watching ESPN, but I’m not going to characterize sports fans as anything else than people who like to watch sports.

But this attitude of a bicycle being a symbol isn’t just outside the bike community, but inside, too.

For example, there are a lot of people who look down on cruisers. I used to until I realized I was being bikist.

Anyway, I don’t like it when people characterize my bicycle as anything else than a lump of metal and rubber that I put my ass on. 🙂

Leave a Reply

