More Sea Port Village

I don’t have too many guilty pleasures because I don’t have too much guilt in my life.

However, when I really examine my feelings, I realize that Sea Port Village is one of them.

Previously, I had stated that it is not a village, but it could be.

Another reason, I am guilty about loving it is how annoying the shops are. I have no problems with being a tourist in my own town nor do I have trouble catering to tourists. Heck, I used to do so myself.

However, there’s a fine line between touristy good and a amalgamation of everything I loathe and Sea Port Village’s shops are closer to the later. This isn’t unlike the cheesy “Main Street” in Mall of Georgia despite the fact that a few traffic chocked highway miles away is a beautiful and neglected real downtown.

I really try to avoid complaining on this blog, but hey, I guess that’s guilty pleasure number two of the day.

The sickening sweet smell of cookies is another turn off from Sea Port’s decor.

Another thing is the “Viking Store” which I hadn’t gone into, but I had a review from my Danish friends.

They apparently went there and had a laugh.

The things that were supposed to be Danish were actually either Dutch (wooden clogs) or German (clothes). I give this store an “A” for trying. Plus, it’s just good family fun.

But a bad way to learn about the world.

Sea Port Viking Store

Aside from the coupling of the coolest urban layout in the entire city of San Diego, and arguably the worst retail choices, the other thing that blew me away was the bike infrastructure.

Blocked Bike Path

By infrastruture, I mean that there’s actually a bicycle path which is separate from the pedestrian area. As I said in earlier posts, if you combine it together, it becomes either a defacto parking lot path (as is part of the OB Bike Path) or a defacto dog walking path.

I have no beef with a path to get to a parking lot nor a quiet place to walk dogs.

I do, however, disagree that we can’t call a path “bicycle infrastructure” if it isn’t for bicycles as we can bicycle on most city streets, but we don’t call that “bike infrastructure”. Nor do we allow pedestrians on the freeway.

So, sure, mix it up, but I think that most of us are happier when pedestrians, motorists, bicycles, and trains all run on separate tracks.

I did think it was funny how people just stood in the middle of the bicycle path when the pedestrian path was much larger and the paths were clearly labeled. I just know that none of these people would ever call a cyclist a scofflaw nor suggest that they stay where they belong. 🙂

Overall, though, the families were a wake-up call that I needed to slow down so I walked my bicycle and enjoyed the view of the bay.

I finally did make it to my destination which was a party where I was by far, the least cool dresser. What can I say? I’m just not into clothes.

Since I didn’t know too many people, I played the games which were great social facilitators.

Many people introduced themselves.

dodge ball

Friendliness is definitely San Diego’s strong point.

Later on that night, we relocated to an undisclosed location where I made a few new friends talking about dog training, Melville, Camus, and Sartre.

2 Responses to “More Sea Port Village”

  1. Aaron Garland Says:

    I really wish I could have made it out to this even last Sunday. I ended up working someone elses shift who called in sick, and I was sick myself, so I got home late and went straight to bed.

    I agree that bike paths should be separated in a way that discourages faster and slower traffic from constantly using the same space. However, it does argue for the relative safety of bikes that some people feel that the OB bike path is a suitable place to sleep.

    • Fred Says:

      Actually, I am mostly OK w/ sharing space with cars and pedestrians. This is not an ideal world, and one is happier if one is generous.

      The only bone of contention for me is to call something that used for sleeping and walking dogs as “bicycle infrastructure”.

      There’s something inside of me that doesn’t like inaccuracy. I just don’t know why it’s so hard for so many people to admit that we don’t have a lot of dedicated bike infrastructure, and that it’s actually most all shared.

      The only way it is _not_ shared is if pedestrians, motorists, and nappers are prohibited by law and this is enforced.

      This is done on the freeway right now for motorist’s comfort.

      I don’t _need_ this nor am I even sure I really want this, but I don’t like things to be inaccurate.

      If I say I’ll give you $100, but then I stipulate you have to share it with whomever asks, whenever they ask, you won’t be happy to hear that I gave you $100.

Leave a Reply

