Paseo de Todos: In Transit

Last weekend, I went to Paseo de Todos again.

I won’t recount how excellent it is because there are too many other posts, and nothing really that different happened. Suffice it to say that it was a good time and well worth the trip.

However, this time, my good friend didn’t drive down anymore.

I agree with not driving on so many levels, though, in the past, when I knew that there was a ride available, I jumped on it.

Now, with the van gone, I took the trolley.

It’s possible to ride one’s bike down there, but as my princess discovered, it was rough in some parts. For me, I just didn’t want to make such a hard trek.

The trolley was actually really easy to pick up as it was just down the hill from my job.

The first train, green, was pretty easy, but I had to change the blue line. I did that as soon as possible.

Unfortunately, I found myself in a loop as I was actually on the orange line. Oops.

A passenger was nice enough to tell me what train to get on.

I switched trains in the beautiful downtown station. It was nice to see an urban area that was also San Diego.

On this train, two families merged. One lady with four or five children including a baby. One of the other children said about her, “That baby can fight good!”

The other four children were by themselves. The oldest was ten, I don’t know how old the youngest was: probably about five or so.

Anyway, one of the children had a bag of chips which he shared with all the others both in his family and the other children.

These children surrounded my bicycle. I told them they could hang on to it, and one child even lay his head back on the pannier.

My bicycle got really heavy with all the children hanging on it.

I wanted to lean it against the wall, but some dudes who had been on the train since before I got on were leaned up against the wall, and they had prevented me from doing so. I made a note to be more aggressive about this in the future.

Finally, I changed trains again, and a preacher guy with a bible and cross would not move when I asked him politely so that I could put my bike against the wall. I explained that I was trying to be polite and I didn’t want to get in the way. Then he ran off in a huff.

Next the conductor came and yelled at me to get out of the way because the train was changing direction. Usually, I would have been OK as bikes are relegated to the back of the train even though, I feel that they are better suited to the handicapped area as long as there are no handicapped people.

Where we stand currently blocks an entire door and puts us in the way of a large space especially if there are two bikes and when people don’t allow us to put them against the wall.

Later on, as we rode the bus home, we noted that perhaps people hated bicycles so much because the so called accommodations are so inadequate that they put us in people’s way and they “make people hate us.”

I don’t want to be in the way nor hated.

The children were as well behaved as one could expect especially the four who were alone.

2 Responses to “Paseo de Todos: In Transit”

  1. Aaron Garland Says:

    Fun trip. I like riding the trolley too. I also agree that bikes are in the way when facilities and infrastructure are not designed for them. I feel this way on the road too, especially on high speed roads, where poor road design causes us to be the subject of the rath and scorn or vehicle drivers. I think I would find my trolley riding experience more pleasurable if there was a place for my bike, and if when seats were available I could sit down, rather than hold on to my bike.

    • Fred Says:

      I often lock my bike up in handicapped area when there’s nobody there. When the traffic is light on the train, I’ll sit in the back and hang on to my bicycle.

Leave a Reply

