Building With Good Friends

Last weekend, I helped some friends build an oven out of clay and sand.

It was an amazing experience. This style of oven is ideal for baking bread, and it requires very low heat.

For the first time in my life, I got a taste of how it must feel to be an Amish person working on barn raising together.

In fact, one of my friends said that he would love to do this everyday to build a house. I think that would be fantastic.

For me, the best part was the sensual feel of the clay and water on my feet when I got into the garbage can that held that mixture.

Of course, the stupid movie which I never even saw, Ghost kind of ruined clay for me. 🙂

Of course, the day consisted of more than just dancing around on top of a mixture of clay and sand.

We also spoke about food, bicycles, and how to have more humanity in the world.

It was amazing to be in the same room with people who were all well read and on the same page.

It’s not about feeling like I am better than others, but there is a whole bunch of scientific research done by people who truly would like their world to be a happier place for themselves and others, and it seems like only a small portion of us are reading it even though much of it is publicly funded.

It’s not even a political issue, but a universal issue. All of us have a common humanity with similar emotions whether we live in NYC, CHP, or San Diego, we’re more similar than we are different.

The topics ranged from the new (to me) Paleo Lifestyle to parking lots to famous Indian poets to menu design to prostitutes with MFAs.

Amazing people and an amazing time.

We finally started talking about one of my current obsessions which is chapulines which they said they will help me prepare if I can find a supplier.

Amazing times to come.

Leave a Reply

