My Commute II

This continues from My Commute I.

When I go down Fairmount, I hear, I am so excited I often think of music.

When I first went down the hill, I thought of Blondie’s song “Atomic” mainly about the part where Debbie sings, “Make it magnificent.” And it was.

For a long time, I was thinking of the Bloodhoung Gang song,

“Ball’s Out”
.

Though I often now meditate on my ride, I still think that this sums up what a ride down this hill is like. It’s amazing how for a while, it’s an ordinary city street lined with sidewalks and business, with crosswalks where cars stop for children and stoplights, suddenly, Fairmount blossoms into a highway.

The best part of the ride is the two traffic merges. In two places there are actually on ramps where one has to cross in front of a lane of motorists who are struggling to get onto the highway.

At first, I waited for traffic–“you’re hair is beautiful”. It was a rainy day, and I didn’t want to slip or anything. But then I noticed that traffic wasn’t going to stop, and I had to get to work. I just jumped out there with cars passing me on both sides. Scary, but a bit exhilirating. Plus, think, any of those cars can hit one another, too so it’s not as nuts as it sounds.

The best part is that there is _always_ one good person out of the bunch who slows down to let me in. I always signal, realizing that our entire society runs on give and take. Here’s a chance to allow someone to feel good all day while they brake, for a single second, to allow me to get by. Imagine, one second and two people feel good all day. I don’t know how the other person feels, but I get a warm glow inside when people yield to me.

Between the first and second merges is a bus stop where people have seen me so often they will wave and smile. Also, there’s a third on ramp where nobody ever gets on, but I check extra, everyday because the places where you get complacent tend to be the ones that really screw you.

Finally, there’s an exit for bicycles only. It’s kind of useless, and it has the model where bicycles have much harder terrain than motorists for some reason.

[Who are these designers? I’d love to meet one and bicycle with them on something that they designed.]

This little ramp makes me feel good because here’s something that’s mainly for cyclists only, but not 100%. People still walk on this. Also there’s sometimes a homeless guy who sleeps there. Another homeless guy, who’s a fellow cyclist–hey!–sleeps off the trail. Both homeless are quite nice so I say “hi” to them daily.

Then I come down the hill where there’s a stop light and a turn.

I’ll talk about this in Part III.

Leave a Reply

