Basquiatesque Joy

Often when I ride my bicycle, I think of a scene from the movie Basquiat where he rode his bicycle in the park. He seemed so happy to be alive that, on his bicycle, he swayed left and right. My friend’s girlfriend said, “I wish I could be that happy and free.”

The thing is, that I am that happy and free. I sway back and forth whenever I have the chance. Often this is in the drainage ditch in my work parking lot in the morning. I am so happy to be alive and to have gotten to work safe another day.

Usually, this isn’t a good idea on San Diego roads, but I have this feeling that some day, real soon now, it’s going to be possible to do this everywhere in this fair city.

Leave a Reply

