Highway Riding

I came up with a letter, but when I went to the Sandag website, I could find no where to submit it!

There was only a way to contact the webmaster. I’m going to send it them and see what’s up.

Below is the letter:

Greetings,

I am a cycling advocate who would like to do for bicycles what
the AAA has done for the automobile, guarantee Americans, who
so desire, universal mobility by bicycle.

In the past, I had thought that the policy of keeping bicycles
off the freeway was sound. After all, why would I want to share
space with vehicles that are much faster. Add the smell of
exhaust and the constant din, it seemed like a perfectly
logical solution.

However, recently, I had the misfortune of having the last
trolley canceled without warning and without indication.

Unlike the other two dozen passengers who were now stranded in
El Cajon, I had a bicycle. I could feasibly ride the dozen
miles home.

I started out naively thinking that El Cajon Avenue would take
me straight home. This turned out to be untrue as I somehow
managed, with no intention of my own, of winding up on the
freeway. Knowing full well that I was breaking the law, I took
the first exit.

Immediately, I got lost and even turned around again. I did
have a light, but it was not the brightest. I inadvertently
ended up on the freeway again. Again, I took the first exit. I
was at Grossmont Plaza all ready. I was finding my bicycle ride
to be much quicker than the trolley.

Again, I got lost. Seeing a police officer, I asked which
direction was West. He assured me I should go straight. I did.

I was on the freeway again.

Why was I breaking the law so much? Why did a police officer,
seeing I was on a bicycle, also suggest that I break the law?

It seems that there are freeways everywhere, and they are quite
unavoidable.

From my ride, I found that even on a bicycle the freeway is
much faster and more convenient than any street that has a
bicycle lane.

At no point did I feel unsafe on the freeway. In fact, my only
fear was getting fined for breaking the law.

I feel that as long as freeway access is denied to cyclists,
mobility for cyclists will be an empty promise.

The State of California and the City of San Diego are bankrupt.
Still, there is talk of tiny improvements to build
infrastructure for cyclists. Many people in charge feel that a
dollar spent on cyclists is a dollar taken away from motorists.

I would prefer not take money away from anyone. My proposal
would cost no more than the cost of this email: decriminalize
bicycling on freeways. Just stop wasting tax payer money
harassing cyclists who are just trying to get home from work
when public transportation has failed them.

Not all of us are wealthy enough to afford a car. Some of us,
for health or moral reasons, choose to limit our driving. Ever
since I have started cycling, I have personally been happier
than I have ever been in my life. I don’t know why people like
me, people who also pay taxes, are denied mobility.

I want what’s best for motorists, best for taxpayers, and best
for bicyclists, A truly Free freeway.

Leave a Reply

